May Roundup

IMG_0027I can’t quite believe that June is here already! May seemed to fly by, but on reflection, I seem to have had a super busy month!

So what have I been up to this month?

Making


I’ve had a fairly productive month on the making front. One of my first projects was some mini pin-cushions to take along to Make and Meet (more on that in a bit), using some small scraps from my fabric stash. These are super easy to make, I’ll share a quick tutorial at some point!

A colleague was leaving, so I made her one of the fabric banners that I have been creating recently as a leaving present. The beauty of these banners is that they can easily be personalised, so for this one, I could easily make it appropriate for a gin lover! I’m pleased to say that the gift was loved by the recipient.

I also finally got round to making my Tilly and the Buttons Coco dress. I was so happy with it that it got a post all of it’s own.

Having now worn the dress, I’m still in love with this pattern, so much so that I’ve already ordered some more fabric for my next one!

Baking

I’ve been baking lots of batches of the Madeleine Shaw cookies, which I reviewed on my blog at the start of the month. These are still satisfying my craving for cookies, and the best bit is that they are gluten free, so they keep my tummy happy.

The best baking of the month was with my two year old niece. I had the pleasure of looking after her for a whole day, and we decided to do some baking. We made some chocolate cupcakes, using my favourite recipe from the Hummingbird Bakery recipe book. Once they were cooked and cooled, we set about decorating them. My niece had already chosen the decorations, and decorated each one herself. Needless to say, it was a roaring success (and the cakes tasted as good as they looked!).

Doing

In addition to all of my making and baking, I’ve been up to lots of other things too. Those of you who follow me on Instagram will have spotted that I ran my first craft workshop this month, again there’s a whole blog post dedicated to that! It already feels like so long ago!

In preparation for Blogtacular, I’ve also been busy designing new business cards. They came back from the printer a couple of weeks ago, and I’m so chuffed with how they turned out. I’m looking forward to doing lots of swaps in two weeks time.IMG_0574

My craft room remains a work in progress, this month Mr Makes has been busy putting up lots of pictures for me, so it’s not looking quite so bare. I’ll be sharing pictures in a future post once it is finally complete.

I’ve also been signing up to more subscription boxes. I’ve been eyeing up Ohh Deer’s Papergang box since it launched, and this month I took the plunge! I’m so happy that I did as I loved the contents of the box. I’m definitely a stationery lover, so this satisfies my constant need for new notebooks!

Finally, on a completely different theme, I signed up for a 10k run in October! I’ve not done much running for about 5 years now, so thought it was about time I gave it another bash. My training is now underway, and I completed my first ever Parkrun last weekend.

The month ahead

June looks like it is going to be another busy month. My main focus will be on Blogtacular, making sure that I’m all ready to go. I will of course be sharing lots of pictures on the day, and no doubt there will be a long post dedicated entirely to the event.

2 thoughts on “May Roundup

Leave a Reply

