June and July Roundup

 

I can’t quite believe that it’s already the 31st of July, the summer is flying by! It’s safe to say that I’ve had quite a busy few months, and if you’re a regular reader, you’ll probably understand why. June was of course focused around Blogtacular. I’ve written quite a few posts about the event already, but what I will say, is that even 6 weeks on, I can’t believe the positive impact it had.

So what else have I been up to?

Making

I of course made my latest Coco dress to wear to the Blogtacular welcome party. I’ve worn it a number of times since, and have been given lots of compliments from colleagues, particularly impressed that I made it myself! The Coco is such an easy dress that I can see myself making many more.

Post-Blogtacular it’s been all about the mini-makes, tackling mini kits and finishing off old projects. I’m reaching the end of the list of these to complete, so I’ll be planning my next bigger project soon. I’ve just signed up for the We Make Collective boxes, which should fill the gap nicely!

It’s been a while since I made some bunting, so I took the opportunity to refresh the pictures for my bunting tutorial. I’m so happy with the new photos, they are much brighter and more professional looking than the older ones.

Baking

I’ve not had much time for baking, but managed to whip up one of my signature bakes, a lemon drizzle cake, for a charity bake sale. Mr Makes also made his go-to recipe, some amazing chocolate and peanut butter cookies. Both makes went down a storm!

I had a bit of a baking disaster this weekend. Having fully intended to make a carrot cake, as I got my ingredients out last night, I suddenly realised that I was missing an ingredient. No problem I thought I’ll quickly put together a chocolate victoria sponge cake! I should know by now to not experiment when I’m in a rush, different flour and butter resulted in a very flat cake. It was the Hummingbird Bakery recipe book to the rescue, and I managed to save the day with these chocolate cupcakes with vanilla buttercream!

Doing

Following Blogtacular, I’ve been trying to spend more time with my local creative folks. As well as my regular Make and Meet, I attended the Oxford Instameet and an Independent Oxford meet up. Both events were a great opportunity to discover new parts of my hometown, and meet some lovely people. I’m keen to make their events a regular occurrence.

I’ve been following lots of new Instagram accounts, and entering some competitions. I was lucky enough to win these lovely stickers from Fred and Bell, they are so nice that they have inspired me to give proper ‘planning’ a go, a Kikki K planner is now on order!

IMG_1843

I’ve always trying to shop from more independents, and I’ve treated myself to some lovely items. My pin game is definitely improving, and I’m slowly building quite a little collection.

I’ve been rediscovering drawing, via the Lisa Congdon Creativebug courses. Since taking the first few approximately a month ago, I’ve become hooked! Expect a blog post on this soon!

Finally, my craft room is now taking shape! I’m still short on storage, so it remains a work in progress, but I hope to be sharing some pictures of my workspace soon.

So, what does August hold? I’ve got some time coming off, so I’ll hopefully be doing lots of nice things, and some more crafting! I’ve also signed up for the Color Run in Birmingham. It’s my third time doing the event, and I always have so much fun. Expect to see a lot of pictures!

Leave a Reply

