August Roundup

IMG_2336

It’s hard to believe that Summer is officially over. This year is flying by faster than I can believe, and August was no exception.

Making

August started with some impulse making, on a visit to Darn It and Stitch in Oxford, I fell in love with some green cotton, which I instantly knew would make a fantastic Dominique skirt. I wasn’t disappointed and wrote a post all about why this is the perfect pattern for beginners.

 

Early in the month, my first We Make Collective box popped through the letterbox. I was instantly impressed by the wonderful selection of materials, and the cute packaging. I’ve just started my first project, it’s going to be a bit of a longer one which will probably be completed in the evenings in front of the telly!

I also shared the first in a series of ‘mini makes’, a simple decorated cardboard box. This make was inspired by the small stack of postage boxes that I can bring myself to throw away and my collection of Mollie Makes magazines containing pretty papers. The reaction to this has been fantastic, and I can’t wait to share some more tutorials with you!

Baking

It’s fair to say that it’s been quiet on the baking front this month, I don’t tend to bake much over the Summer as it’s just too hot. I am however getting my baking fix through the return of The Great British Bake Off. I am a huge fan of the show, as well as being entertaining, the main thing I love about it is the community it creates. I find myself discussing it with so many different people. Inevitably, I do find myself completely inspired, and although I can’t promise any show-stoppers, there will inevitably be some more bakes over the coming months.

Doing

August has been particularly special because I’ve spent lots of time out and about doing nice things, mainly with Mr Makes.

The first was a visit to London, to attend a graffiti workshop in Notting Hill. This was actually a Christmas present from Mr Makes last year, and I enjoyed every second of it. I’m already planning some graffiti-inspired makes to share with you all.

We also visited Leamington Spa, mainly to visit the lovely independent shop Berylune. I’ve been following the store on Instagram for a while now, and wasn’t disappointed. A gorgeous shop filled with lots of goodies from independent makers, I could have easily bought most of the shop. I managed to stay fairly restrained with a yellow Sun Jellies bag, a label maker, and some other little goodies.

Finally, towards the end of the month, I did my third Color Run a 5k run during which you are decorated with coloured paint powder. By the end of the run, you are a lovely bright rainbow of colours (which does wash off). We did get a few funny looks as we walked through the motorway services on the way home! Running doesn’t really come naturally, but I do love this event. This year, I treated it as a bit of a warm up for the 10k which I am doing in October.

I’ve been trying to blog regularly this month, but my favourite post was quite a personal one. Why Making is a Learning Curve is my thoughts on why we don’t need to beat ourselves up about making mistakes, and how we can learn and develop from them. I haven’t really shared any personal/feelings-type posts before, but it certainly seemed to be well received. I’ll be looking to do a few more of these in the future.

Looking forward

Now that Summer is over, I’m looking forward to the next few months ahead. There are some exciting things coming up, which I’ll of course be sharing on here and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

