September Roundup

img_2299I always seem to begin these roundup posts with ‘it’s been a busy month’ or ‘it’s gone super quick’ or something similar! I’m now of the belief that this has just become the norm for 2016. What it does leave me with though is a real sense of achievement when I look back at all the things I’ve done this month.

The month started with a visit to The People Shop to see the lovely Allison Sadler for a creative mentoring session. I met Allison at Blogtacular earlier this year, and immediately knew that a session with her was exactly what I needed. I won’t reveal too much of what we discussed, but I came away excited to get going, and looking forward to what’s ahead. What I will say is that The People Shop is lovely, full of wonderful things that I will definitely be adding to my Christmas list this year. The People Shop represents everything that I love about buying independent and I wholeheartedly recommend that you check them out!

img_2327

Whilst in Birmingham, I couldn’t resist also popping into Guthrie & Ghani, which was just down the road. Run by Lauren from the first series of the Sewing Bee, Guthrie & Ghani is a gorgeous fabric shop filled with wonderful fabric, patterns, and books. I picked up this lovely mustard dog print fabric, which I’m currently planning to make into some pyjama bottoms.

On the independent theme, I was thrilled to work with The Fabric Fox in September, using some of their wonderful fabrics in my Fabric Storage Tubs tutorial. I try to buy as much of my fabric as possible from independents, I find they are priced just as competitively as the big stores, have wonderful ranges, and in my personal opinion, the service is more personal.

Later in the month, I attended the Handmade Fair. I’ve already written a lengthy post about this, but the highlight was definitely the fabric shopping! I also learnt how to paint enamel mugs, which I’ve already had another go at for my Dad’s birthday. He was really chuffed with his new mug!

Throughout the whole of September, I’ve been taking part in House of Pinheiro’s SewPhotoHop challenge. Each day has a prompt for you to share a picture of something sewing related. I did this last year, and comparing my photos now to what I posted before, I feel like I’ve come a long way, both in the quality of the photos, and the projects in them. Hopefully by next year, I’ll have even more handmade clothes to finish.

There has also been time for some making this month, and I finally got around to making something with August’s We Make Collective box. Embroidered in front of many hours of Mad Men, I stitched this Don Draper-inspired motivational hoop.

img_2684

September has also been the month when I announced two very exciting bits of news. The first was that I was a contributor to the latest issue of Caboodle Magazine. I worked on a little DIY project, a retro-style Diner flag. I actually submitted my tutorial a few months back, so it was really nice to see it finally in print! It’s also so nice to see so many familiar faces in the magazine, I’m honoured to be in such great company.

img_2663

Finally, the biggest news of all came towards the end of the month, I’m launching something new! With my crafty BFF, Rachel from Handmade by Holchester, we are launching some craft kits just in time for Christmas. They’ll be on sale from 3 October, and I really hope that you like them! In addition to selling the kits, we are going to be running some mini workshops, at the Annie Sloan shop in Oxford as part of A Rosie Life’s Cocktails and Crafts night, as well as at the Independent Oxford Christmas Market. This project has taken up a lot of our time over the past few months, but working with Rachel has been fantastic. Head over to our Instagram page @createcraftkits to see more sneak peeks.

img_2840

So, that’s September in a nutshell! The rest of the year looks just as busy, but I’ll also be working on some exciting stuff to share with you all over the coming months. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

