Christmas Crafting with Merrie and Bright

img_3656

December is here! It’s the most festive time of the year, and it’s time to start decorating the house for Christmas. The shops are full of wonderful decorations, but being creative, I do like to make something myself.

In previous years, I’ve made lots of bunting, but this year I fancied something a bit different. As soon as I saw the new range of wrapping paper from Merrie and Bright Calligraphy, I knew that I had to make something with it! In this post, I’ll be running through two simple makes using this wrapping paper that can easily be completed in front of a festive film!

Origami Baubles

First up was creating some origami decorations for the tree. I’d seen a tutorial in issue 72 of Mollie Makes, but was waiting to find the right paper to use. Merrie’s gorgeous deep grey paper is just the right colour to fit in with our colour scheme!

These baubles were super-easy to create, only requiring 6 10 x 10 squares of paper. I practised on some plain white printer paper first, which I’d recommend while you get the hang of the construction.

Festive Frames

img_3659

Next up, was to create some festive artwork. In our living room, we have two long shelves where we have lots of framed pictures. These tend to get moved around quite a bit throughout the year, but I was keen to update them for Christmas. As this new artwork is only going to be out for one month a year, I also don’t want to spend a fortune on materials, you can easily create these pictures with some nice paper and other materials you already have.

img_3700

Instructions

You will need:

  • Wrapping paper
  • Plain paper
  • Scissors
  • Circle cutter (optional) or a plate to draw around
  • Double sided tape
  • Metallic pen
  1. Cut your backing paper to the required size.
  2. Decide how big you want your bauble to be, I went for a single bauble, but a few smaller ones would also look great! I used my circle cutting tool, but if you don’t have one, simply draw around a plate or cup, and cut.
  3. Cut a small rectangle of paper and stick to the back of your bauble using tape.
  4. If you want to decorate your bauble now is the time, I decided on a star that matched my backing paper for my larger picture. To do this, simply cut out your shape and stick with double-sided tape.
  5. Using a metallic pen, draw a line down the centre of your backing paper, going roughly half-way down.
  6. Using double sided tape, stick the bauble onto the backing paper.

Top tips

  • If your wrapping paper is rolled, you may want to flatten it overnight before cutting.
  • If you are temporarily replacing existing pictures, store the picture in the back of the frame, so that it’s easy to find in January.
  • Keep any offcuts and use for wrapping small presents, or even making gift tags.

I’m really happy with these makes, they really are super simple and are an easy way to update your festive décor on a small budget.

The paper for these makes has kindly been supplied by Merrie and Bright Calligraphy. I met Merrie last year and we instantly clicked over a love of all things creative! As well as her beautiful wrapping paper, Merrie stocks all kinds of lovely Christmas decorations, cake toppers, and calligraphy kits in her online store. She also runs calligraphy workshops! If you’re on the hunt for beautiful Christmas gifts, her online shop is definitely worth a look.

Leave a Reply

