Learning to Crochet: DIY Necklace Kit

img_3741I love all kinds of crafting, sewing, painting, papercrafts, I like a bit of variety. Crochet though? Not in my craft room. After attempting once, I gave up and never tried it again. Many of my crafty friends crochet lovely things, but I’ve never really caught the bug. When Liz of Fickle Craft Room approached me asking if I’d like to have a go at one of her new crochet kits, I knew it was time to finally have another go.

I already own one of the Fickle Craft Room necklaces, a lovely mustard yellow with dark grey beads, and I adore it. It’s one of those necklaces which always gets lovely comments, often followed by a ‘did you make it?’. Now, I’d be able to answer with a positive yes, instead of skirting around the subject!

Each kit contains everything you need to make your necklace: a crochet hook, t-shirt yarn, two beads, and step-by-step instructions. My kit contained some gorgeous blue yarn with jet black beads, which will go perfectly with most of my wardrobe! The instruction sheet comes with full colour photos, which make each step easy to understand.

img_3743

Given that it didn’t require too much space, I sat down to complete my necklace on the sofa in front of the telly with a big mug of tea, I love sofa crafting! Admittedly, it did take me a few attempts to get the going, but once I’d got the hang of it, the necklace came together quite quickly due to only a few techniques being required. Once the crochet part is complete, the finishing touch is two large wooden beads.

img_3742

This kit is great for anyone who is new to crochet, it’s just challenging enough that you get that level of satisfaction once you nail it, but simple enough that it can easily be completed in an evening. The t-shirt yarn is really lovely to work with, especially as a beginner. It is really forgiving, I was easily able to sort out the tension in places with a few tactical pulls! As an introduction to crochet, this kit works really well as it’s not too daunting, like other kits I have seen. It’s definitely inspired me to give crochet a second chance, and I’ll hopefully be doing more of it in 2017!

img_3744

The Fickle Craftroom kits are available online, you can also follow Liz on Instagram.

The necklace kit was kindly sent to my by Fickle Craftroom for review purposes. As always, views are my own and completely honest!

Leave a Reply

