Looking Ahead: 2017

img_4100It’s that time of year when social media is dominated by people’s resolutions for 2017, adverts for gym memberships, and new diets to try. It’s inevitable that the start of a new year makes us think about the 12 months ahead, but I’ve never really been one for resolutions.

In my last post, I reflected back on 2016, and the creative pledges I’d made. It seems that focusing on positives, rather than denying yourself of something, is the way forward. This year, I’m taking a similar approach. A series of short pledges, which can flex as the year goes on.

  1. Be more organised

I run my blog alongside a full-time job, and at times it’s hard to keep track of everything. I asked for the Hello Day planner for Christmas to help me get on top of things a little bit more this year. I’m hoping that by breaking things down into smaller chunks throughout the week, I don’t have to panic about my to-do list on a Saturday morning.

img_4134

  1. Make time for daily creativity

My new planner has a space each day for a 10-minute achievement. I’m going to alternate a practical achievement (clear out the fridge, put on the washing, etc.) with a creative one. It could be 10 minutes spent doodling, practising my calligraphy, or even just browsing Pinterest for project ideas, the important thing is just switching off!

  1. Spend time being creative with the little ones

As my nieces and nephew get older, I’m keen to spend time teaching them how to be creative. Some of my favourite moments from 2016 are the times I’ve spent with my niece baking or crafting and so I hope that this is something I get to do more of in the coming year.

img_4144

  1. Continue to blog

I managed to get myself into a nice little routine with the blog, and so this year I’m keen to keep the regular posting going. I’m also hoping that with my new planner, I can begin getting ahead of the game and build up a small number of posts that are ready to go whenever I need them.

  1. Learn to use my new camera

I treated myself to an Olympus PEN camera for my birthday, and in 2017 I actually hope to spend some time learning how to use it (and not just on the auto mode!). I’m going to be on the hunt for a beginner’s photography course that I can perhaps go on.

img_4130

  1. Rebrand

Perhaps the most significant of all of my pledges. For some time I’ve been toying with the idea of a rebrand. Em Makes and Bakes was started back in 2015 when I was baking a lot more, but as time has gone on, the makes have definitely featured more prominently. I’m still very much in the early stages, but there could be some big changes this year!

 

I initially wrote this list a few days ago, but as I typed it up for this post, I was very aware that it didn’t seem too scary. I’m really looking forward to seeing what the year ahead brings. If you’ve made any pledges/plans for the New Year, I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

