Receipt Tracker DIY

img_4265Tax returns are definitely a common theme across my social media recently. The tax return was one of the big fears I had when deciding to start my own business, but I’ve been assured that they are not too bad, as long as you are organised. Although I’ve managed to avoid doing one this year, I’m very much aware that this time next year, I too will need to be looking back through a year’s worth of receipts and invoices. I definitely need to get organised now.

I’ve spotted a few receipt organisers online which can help track your receipts throughout the year. These are a great idea, but an added expense for small businesses, so I decided to get creative and make my own. Other than the A4 envelopes, everything else I already had!

In this DIY, I’ll talk you through the system I’ve devised, and I’m also including my first ever free printable, featuring three different colour ways. Download your own tracker sheets by clicking here!

img_4268

You will need:

  • A4 envelopes or ring binder with plastic pockets.
  • Printer (if you are using my template)
  • A4 paper, ruler, lots of coloured pens (if you are making your own template)
  • Double-sided tape

Instructions:

  1. If you are making your own template, plan out what information you want to include on your sheet. Draft first in pencil on a spare piece of paper so that you can play around with sizing!
  2. Once you are happy with your layout, draw out on a fresh sheet of paper. Either repeat 12 times, or use a photocopier to make more copies.
  3. If you are using my printable, download a copy of the PDF and choose which colour way you prefer. I like a mixture of all three colours! Print out 12 sheets.
  4. Using double sided-tape, attach your sheet to the front of an a4 envelope (if using). Repeat with the remaining sheets.

I’m going to trial using envelopes to store my receipts. The great thing with these is that you can seal them at the end of the month. You can also punch holes and store in a ring binder if you would prefer.

I’d love to know how you get on with these sheets, or if you have any tips of your own for getting organised.

Download your own tracker sheets by clicking here!

img_4267

2 thoughts on “Receipt Tracker DIY

  1. These are great, so simple and nicely designed! I had to submit my first tax return this year and definitely need to be more organised, so these are great! Thanks! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

