Book Review: Making Concrete Pots, Bowls, and Planters

img_4532I’ve been keen to have a go at crafting with concrete for some time now, when the chance came to review Hester Van Overbeek’s latest book, I was jumped at the opportunity!

Making Concrete Pots, Bowls, and Platters contains 35 projects for your home. If like me, you’ve never worked with concrete before, it provides you will all the basic knowledge to need to get going. The Getting Started section covers everything from choosing your concrete to techniques, drying times, and the tools needed. I’ve always been a bit hesitant to give concrete a go, fearing that I’ll need lots of tools and that it will be too complicated, but Hester’s clear guidance and tips make it seem really achievable.

My concern with niche craft books is always how different the included projects will actually be, will it just be the same tutorials slightly tweaked? This is not the case with this title, Hester has include a wide range of original projects, split into three sections; Gardening and Outdoors, Food and Entertaining, and Display and Gift. The projects are also a range of complexity levels, meaning you can start with something simple, such as tea light holders and once you’ve got the hang of it, tackle something a bit more difficult like a plant table. I’ve already added the Asymmetric Succulent Planter, Copper Planter with Saucer, Coasters, and Two Tone Decorative Bowl to my projects to-do list (to be tackled once the weather gets a bit warmer!).img_4525

What really stands out with this book is the amazing photography. The tutorials have photos for each step of the process but there are also lots of photos of the finished product, styled beautifully. Just looking at this book makes me want to fill my home and garden with lots of concrete pieces.

Overall, this is a really great craft title, which I’m sure I’ll be using for many years to come. I’ll of course be sharing pictures of projects I make on my Instagram.

If you’d like to buy a copy, readers of my blog can get 20% off online using the code CONCRETE20. Just head to the MAKEetc website.

img_4524

This book was kindly sent to me by Cico books for review purposes, all views are my own.

Leave a Reply

