Cambridge Creatives Photowalk

IMG_5489What do you get when you mix around 70 creatives, a lot of colourful clothing, some heart shaped balloons, a few gorgeous satchels, and a beautiful city? It can only be the Cambridge Creatives Instagram Photowalk!

Last weekend, I ventured over to Cambridge for an afternoon of sightseeing and photography with lots of like-minded ladies. Organised by the lovely Jo from Hello Sunshine and Claire of Claireabellemakes, I knew that I was going to have a lovely time.

Our meeting point was Parker’s Piece, a lovely green space in the heart of Cambridge. Although I arrived early, I was easily able to find my fellow creatives simply by looking for the group wearing the most colourful clothing! Quickly, fellow creatives began to arrive and before long our lovely hosts, who greeted us with armfuls of balloons and goody bags joined us.

IMG_5575

Our walk started by exploring some quieter side streets with beautiful cottages and one of the most photographed spots of the day, a wisteria covered house! Much time was spent here taking photos, chatting, and generally all cooing over the beautiful colours.

IMG_5487

From there, we walked across Midsummer Common and then along the river. It was a beautiful sunny day, the perfect weather for photowalking. I of course had to take some pictures of the punts!

IMG_5486

It was then back towards the centre, where we assembled for a group shot, and then it was time for a gelato stop. Although the queue was looking pretty big, the lovely Hannah assured us that it was worth the wait, she was not wrong. I eagerly tucked in to my first scoop, before realising that I hadn’t taken the obligatory ice cream photo, which was quickly rectified!

IMG_5485

We all bought some snacks and headed to Jesus Green for a well-earned sit down, a picnic, and a general natter. At this point, it was time to do some swapsies. Ahead of the walk, I’d got some new samples printed to show off and get some feedback. The comments were lovely, and I was soon swapping prints for pin badges, patches, and other lovely goodies.

IMG_5531

It’s fair to say that I was pretty rubbish at actually taking photos, but for me the real value of events like this is people that you meet. I had a wonderful afternoon chatting with so many lovely people, some who I had met before, some who I follow on Instagram, and some who were friendly new faces. As the picnic drew to a close, I was sad that I had to leave and go home. Mr Makes came to meet me (he was a little surprised to see so many people who recognised him from my Instagram!) and I said my goodbyes to everyone. I finished the day pretty shattered, barely managing to speak on the way home!

A big thanks to Jo, Claire, and Kate from Daphne Rosa, who were such wonderful hosts for the afternoon. I fell in love with Cambridge, and can’t wait for my next adventure there.

If you’d like to see more photos from the event, head over to Instagram and search the hashtag #cambridgecreativesphotowalk

IMG_5488IMG_5574

One thought on “Cambridge Creatives Photowalk

Leave a Reply

