The 100 Day Project: Perfecting my Hand-lettering

IMG_6346On Instagram, I recently announced a new creative challenge that I would be undertaking for 2017. Inspired by some of my fellow creatives, I’ve decided to give the 100 Day Project a go. The idea behind the project is quite straightforward: pick something creative, and do it for 100 days in a row. Simple, right?

Lettering is something that I’ve been working on for the last couple of years on and off, I’ve picked up calligraphy a couple of times, as well as giving brush lettering a go earlier this year. To date, I’ve mainly been working on paper, but I’m keen to start experimenting with digitizing my work. This is where Mr Makes’ trusty iPad pro and Apple pencil comes into the mix; it’s going to be a lot easier for me to work digitally.

Before starting the challenge, I’d had a few practice goes with the pencil, with varying levels of success. During the 100 days, I’m going to be experimenting with different apps and the tools within them to see what works best for me. I’m really hoping that through having a go every day I can refine my technique and find my own style. I’m going to be scouring Pinterest for ideas of different font styles to try; this is an opportunity to really experiment!

IMG_6285

So, what will I be lettering? I’m predicting a mixture of motivational sayings, quotes from my favourite television shows and films, and of course, a lot of lyrics from my favourite songs. I’m intending that with each piece I share, there’ll be a little story to go with it, be it the memories behind a certain song, or recent events that have inspired that particular piece. In some cases, it may be as simple as ‘It’s Wednesday, it’s obviously going to be a Mean Girls quote’.

If anyone has any tips or tricks for lettering on an iPad, any App recommendations, or tips for using the apps in general, I’d love to know! Feel free to leave me a comment below, or drop me a line on social media.

If you’d like to follow along, I’ll be sharing my posts daily on Instagram with the hashtag #emsletteringproject, as well as doing regular updates on here. I’m now 12 days into the project, and would love to know what your favourite piece so far is!

IMG_6286IMG_6291IMG_6292IMG_6303IMG_6344IMG_6363IMG_6367IMG_6369IMG_6397IMG_6430

4 thoughts on “The 100 Day Project: Perfecting my Hand-lettering

  1. Hi Em, I love this new project of yours and I’m following along already. My faves are the first ‘start somewhere’ – I love the colours of this one too and the Don Draper quote is great! I have no experience of digital lettering so no advice from me but I’m interested to learn. Big kisses, Lucy xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

