BLOGTACULAR PHOTO WALK 2017

Blogtacular 2017 Photowalk West © Amber-Rose Photography (104)
Photo courtesy of: Blogtacular and Amber-Rose Photography

Although I was quick to write up my post about the main Blogtacular event itself, it suddenly dawned on me that I’d neglected to write my follow-up post about one of the most exciting parts of the weekend… the photo walks!

I had my first taste of photo walks at Blogtacular last year, and it’s safe to say I was hooked right away. Walking around new places with fellow creatives taking photos is now one of my favourite things to do, and so as soon as the sign-ups for this year’s photo walks opened up, I was instantly filling in my details.

A week or so before the main event, I got confirmation that yet again I’d managed to snag a place. Now, if you’re looking for a dream photo walk leader, Kristabel Plummer is your woman, and so I was thrilled that yet again she’d be leading my walk. With an incredible knowledge of London’s most photographic spots mixed with a warm personality that encourages even the most camera-shy to start posing in front of a lens, Kristabel takes some beating.

This year would be different to last in that I already knew some of my fellow photo walkers. I was super excited to be exploring London with Ali from Hello Dodo, Kirsty from The Fabric Fox, Kayte from Simple and Season, and Lucy from Two Crafty Brownies. As we met up in Grosvenor Gardens, there were lots of hugs, and general excitement about the afternoon ahead.

Early on in the walk, we came across the amazing Peggy Porschen Parlour. I adore Peggy, having followed her avidly on Instagram for years, however I have never visited her shop. Needless to say, it didn’t disappoint. This is definitely a cake store with a difference.

IMG_6010IMG_6103IMG_6623IMG_6624

The wonderful plants and flowers really set the tone for the afternoon ahead; beautiful buildings with lots of gorgeous greenery, mixed with LOTS of coloured doors. As the afternoon went on, I think most of us were feeling a little more comfortable in front of the camera, and we got some fantastic group shots. I think it’s safe to say that in these types of post, it’s the pictures that do the talking.

IMG_6622IMG_6621IMG_6109IMG_6107

Blogtacular 2017 Photowalk West © Amber-Rose Photography (65)
Photo courtesy of: Blogtacular and Amber-Rose Photography
Blogtacular 2017 Photowalk West © Amber-Rose Photography (88)
Photo courtesy of: Blogtacular and Amber-Rose Photography

If I’m being completely honest, I was a little disappointed at first to not get on the East London photo walk, as I’ve been desperate to explore the colourful wall art of Shoreditch. However, looking back, in some ways it was good to push myself out of my comfort zone. I’m not really one to take pictures of flowers, but I came away with some shots that I would never normally take.

Photo walks really are a good opportunity to really appreciate the beauty of the surroundings around you. They are also a great way to get to know fellow creatives, making a boomerang in front of 30 fellow snappers certainly is an ice breaker!

If you’d like to see more photos from the walk, search the #blogtacularphotowalkwest hashtag on Instagram. I’d also be interested to hear of any photo walks you recommend going on!

Blogtacular 2017 Photowalk West © Amber-Rose Photography (93)
Photo courtesy of: Blogtacular and Amber-Rose Photography
Blogtacular 2017 Photowalk West © Amber-Rose Photography (74)
Photo courtesy of: Blogtacular and Amber-Rose Photography

 

 

 

One thought on “BLOGTACULAR PHOTO WALK 2017

Leave a Reply

