The 100 Day Project: Your Help Needed!

IMG_6640

Last month  I announced that I would be having the go at the 100 Day Project, practising my hand lettering by creating a new piece every day for 100 days. With only 102 days to go until my due date, I thought it would be a nice way to countdown and document the last few months of my pregnancy.

Since then, I’ve shared 29 of my hand lettered pieces, and as I’m now almost a third of the way through, I thought it would be nice to open up the challenge and ask my blog readers/Instagram followers/friends to get involved too! So, do I want you all to start hand-lettering your own quotes? Well, whilst that would be fab, and I wholeheartedly encourage it, no I’m not. After 30 days, I don’t want my posts to get too repetitive, so I’m asking for your ideas!

I’d love to know what your favourite quotes, lyrics, or perhaps even just phrases you love are. I’ll then be picking my favourite to use as part of my project. In return for your idea, I’ll send you an electronic copy of the piece for you to print out and display at home or share online.

Instagram projects and challenges are a great way to interact with your followers, and I’ve loved all of the lovely comments I’ve had so far. To date I’ve learnt that a lot of you love Mad Men, you agree that everything is better with biscuits, lots of you are plant lovers (and some plant killers), and you are all REALLY good at guessing lyrics (gold stars to everyone who recognised The Cure!). Opening up for ideas will hopefully give me a chance to get to know you all better.

So, if you’re interested in participating, please leave me a comment below. I’ll try and pick as many as possible, although I can’t promise I’ll be able to letter them all! I’ve included some more of my pieces to date to give you some inspiration.

In the meantime, you can follow my lettering challenge on Instagram, by following the hash tag #emsletteringproject

Although this is meant to be a bit of fun, I thought it was best to include a few terms and conditions:

  • If I pick your entry, I’ll letter your suggestion and load to Instagram over the next 70 days.
  • I’ll also send you an electronic copy of the file for you to print, however copyright remains with me.
  • I’d love it if you’d share the post on social media, but if you do, please credit me!
  • I’ll pick as many entries as I can, but it’s ultimately up to me which ideas I choose. Although I’m open-minded, I can’t commit to lettering a lyric from a song I despise.
7 thoughts on “The 100 Day Project: Your Help Needed!

  1. What a fab idea!! Can I enter more than one? My fave quotes are ‘not all who wander are lost’ Tolkien. My son loves Wilde ‘we are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars’. Bit long? We also love ‘you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy’ Obi Wan Kenobi, and of course my absolute fave,’Joy is my middle name’ because it is!! Jenny. Xxxxx

    Like

  2. I’d love to submit two!
    “Measure once, cut twice”
    And also “if it makes you feel fabulous, wear it!”

    Lots of love
    Maddie
    A.k.a @thimblebee (on insta)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “As I try to make my way through the Ordinary World, I will learn to survive” (Duran Duran – Ordinary World)
    “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it” (Ferris Bueller)

    Like

  4. Lovely idea. Some quotes from me would be ‘Dancing in the moonlight’ – song lyric and title of our first dance. A popular one but we love the book ‘Guess how much I love you’ so ‘I love you right up to the moon and back’. And finally one that was shared with me by a friend before we moved to America, ‘If you’re brace enough to say goodbye, live with reward you with a new hello’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

