Baby Crafting, Take 1!

IMG_6802Last month I posted my first make for our nursery, and I’m pleased to say that I’ve happily been crafting away since. My initial plan to have a monochrome nursery is still going ahead, and I’ve been busy making a couple of things to help make the room feel a little more homely.

My first purchase was a cute bear print fabric from Cloth and Candy that I’d been wanting for a while. Fitting in well with the monochrome theme, it featured little bears wearing gold party hats; I mean who wouldn’t want that fabric in their room? I knew right away that it would make some lovely bunting, paired with some of the left over fabric from my latest Sew Crafty Design Team project.

IMG_6560IMG_6803

By the time I’d made the bunting, I’d properly caught the baby-crafting bug. Whilst out shopping one weekend, I spotted a book on sale at The Works, Sew Tiny. I’ve been trying to restrict the number of craft books that I buy, but at £2 this one was a steal! I’ll do a full review of the book in another post, but flicking through, I was immediately drawn to a project for a mobile with a big white cloud and rainbow raindrops.

Unfortunately, we’d already purchased a mobile, but I really loved how the cloud looked, so decided to do my own version, but instead as a wall hanging. I set about sourcing some fabric, and turned to one of my trusted favourite fabric shops, The Fabric Fox who had some amazing splatter print black fabric that would be perfect for the background. After asking online for recommendations for felt, lots of people recommended Cloud Craft (the name was very apt), and I purchased one of their bright mixed packs of felt within minutes of looking on the site!

I’ve said many times before that I love making fabric banners (after all I do sell kits in my Etsy shop!), and this little project reminded me why. They are simple to make, and really do have the wow factor! For my banner, I went supersized compared to the smaller banners that I’ve made before, and I’m sure that it will look great in the nursery.

IMG_6804IMG_6801

So, what’s next on the list? I’ve been eyeing up some of the other projects in the Sew Tiny book, in particular a fabric baby book. I’m also going to be attempting to make at least one item of clothing, as I am missing dressmaking! Needless to say, there’s definitely a theme with my baby crafting, so expect to see more monochrome goodies over the next couple of months!

If you’re looking for a bunting tutorial, check out this post from last year for a simple step-by-step.

One thought on “Baby Crafting, Take 1!

Leave a Reply

